365 Days in the Bay: Begin Again

Have you all seen that movie? Begin Again? GREAT movie about this music producer whose life was on a specific path and per usual, things took a turn.

For the past month, I have been living the retired life. Hanging out with family, wearing PJs until noon only to shower, put athletic Nike gear back on, and lounge throughout the day. I spent the first two weeks of this month getting drooled on in all the best ways by my nephews and the latter two weeks hanging out in my hometown. I’ve been able to see people and places I haven’t been to in years. Visited with my sergeant Grandfather, popped in all the local coffee and ice cream shops, watched great friends get married, took a miniature road trip with my Mom, and visited my first gun range with my Dad.

I made my peace with Ruby being in Ohio and today, I prep myself for a solo flight back to the bay tomorrow evening. As I wrap up my last few days of “retirement” I’ve spent some time thinking through how I make these next 6 months the best 6 months. I’m 2 months shy of my last 20 something birthday (Dear Jesus.), I am pleasantly plump, and I’m really looking forward to beginning…again…

So what do we do with these new beginnings? I mean I’ve had 30 days to think through this! The end of the year tends to move so quickly. The holidays become these timestamps for another NYE and another year. I assume I’ll be here for this year’s holidays and several years after, but the truth is, all I REALLY have is right now. And with right now– I know my best wish for myself is to move away from getting by and move into living presently and purposefully.

My goals for the next 6 months are as follows:

  1. Be painfully honest. With myself. With others.
  2. Blog twice per month.
  3. Join, complete, and share my experience with 2 health and wellness challenges. This can be anything I want– 30 days of Yoga at CPY, a Beachbody Challenge, a Water Challenge, a Meditation Challenge, a Juice cleanse– just something that is centered on health and my getting back to making some progress here. ( I can’t remember the last time I had a vegetable. #facts)
  4. Launch Business Website.
  5. Save $1000.

The hope is that by writing these goals (and sharing them with whomever continues to find my writing intriguing/helpful), I can achieve the ultimate goal of fully living and appreciating each moment as the gift it truly is.

This time away from work has reminded me that things just move so quickly. No point in harping or re-reading chapters that have already ended. In addition, no point in stressing and concerning myself with chapters that haven’t been written. Each day is a new opportunity to begin again.

And so.

Today. I begin.

Again.

And with you (readers) as my witnesses, I take the next best step at being authentically and presently me.

hydration.nutrition.fit.sound.

Bolivia

Bolivia, August 2016
2 thoughts on “365 Days in the Bay: Begin Again

  1. Somehow, someway, I truly believe that I was meant to read this today. Today, as I have coined it, is the first day of the rest of my life. I quit my job of four years (my first big girl job) and yesterday was my last day. Today, I woke up and thought YOU ARE USELESS, but then God whispered that overly catching song in my ear and I thought today is the first day that I start to think of me: my relationship with God, my relationship with my husband, my relationship with me, my relationship with food, my relationship with the gym, friends, family….. you get the point. So, today is the beginning and friend WE CAN MEET OUR GOALS!!! Sending good vibes and prayers from Ohio. I look forward to reading more. ❤

Leave a Reply

