Day 31: On the Brink of Month 2-What have I learned?

Day 31: Training Day (Skipped today trying to allow an irritated knee to recoup)

Meal 1: Protein Shake with Banana and Sun Butter

Meal 2: 3 Hard Boiled Eggs and 2 slices of Bacon

Meal 3: 4 turkey slices with 1 slice of sharp cheddar

Meal 4: 4 Tootsie Rolls

Meal 5: Greek Yogurt, Blackberries, and Walnuts

Meal 6: Lean Ground Beef, Avocado, Sweet Potato

Skipped out on my workout this morning due to recovering from a great Memorial Day vacation. The past 4 days have been spent taking in the Atlanta heat and enjoying spending time with my older brother. He’s making the attempt to make some health changes in his life as well, so while I enjoyed my time and enjoyed the liberties of vacation ( can we say empty wallet alert!!), we also made time for physical activity.

We walked to a park near his house on my first night (about 2 miles), road bikes day 2 ( I have NEVER ridden a bike on made road-way- totally a new hobby I hope to take on, and day 3 we went to the gym (#shoutout to my first LA Fitness experience). I was really proud of myself to see how much physical activity has become apart of my life. I look for ways to increase my mobility throughout the day- even while vacationing! Kudos to me.

With that, I’ll say I ate WELL. Yum. THEE BEST french toast I’ve ever had in my life was pretty much the best way to sum up my experience. While away, it’s also always a time that I reflect on my current status and try to regroup to prepare myself for walking back into my own life.

While away I was able to rehash the importance of some the areas I’ve been working to address in my life: hydration, nutrition, fit, sound.

You see my model coincides with a lot of the current goals I’m pursuing for myself– goals around weight loss, financial stability, intellectual engagement, and spirituality. While watching what my brother has done so well with his life, it reminded of the importance of active goals- goals that I am constantly addressing and adapting to my needs. I’ve come back excited to re-visit where I am in my life and exploratory of what it is that I am truly after.

The exploration is brewing and the foundation is a work in progress ( I feel like I’ve finally invested in the lumbar, I’m just trying to finalize the design….)

That design is fostering through God’s guidance, and I’m telling you. I am on to something pretty amazing. What is it that I said? Those dreams that don’t seem like a possibility are often the ones God’s placed in your heart? I’m listening–and I hear Him.

Cheers to a great a vacation, an amazing big brother, to unwavering supportive parents, and the GREATEST Father God of all time. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

